Router Won't Let Others See My Site

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Router Won't Let Others See My Site

Postby Adam Harper » 24. January 2006 21:08

I have used XAMPP for about a yeah now ands hade ZERO problems until about 3 days ago when i got my first router.....Now NO one can see my website but me.....And for me to see my website i have to type this;

http://localhost/gwmvc/home.html

I went to all these sites;

www.whatismyip.com
www.ipchicken.com
www.showip.com

All gave the same IP address and i tryed using it but it does not work, try it yourself.

http://70.25.37.111.no-ip.org/gwmvc/home.html

So what do i need to do to allow others to see my website? do i have to do something with my router?

I heard i needed to forward my port or something? if so would anyone be able to tell me what port and a step-by-step on how to forward that said port?

My router make is;

LinkSYS
EtherFast Cable/DSL Router with 4-Port Switch

Thank you for all you help~
Adam Harper
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 22. January 2006 07:19

Postby wizazz » 25. January 2006 00:52

Hello.... First of all......
Do you have a registered Domain name yet? (( a registered WWW address?)) like over at GODADDY.com ((its bout $8 each name for 1 year))
and also do you have a DNS service ((zoneedit.com))((free for 5 domain names)) to reroute your dns to your pc's? if you dont have both of these you wont see your websites anyway....

Also when using your router.... you must setup your WAN to LAN in the correct direction... your real IP is your WAN and your pc's address is yor LAN... you must open up your correct LAN address on router so your real ip can go thru.... ((your lan address might look something simular to this 192.168.0.101 )) also open all ports on that LAN pc from that list that Xampp has provided for you in the package. heres the info here....
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

XAMPP does not work under Windows XP SP2!
Sure! But here, Microsoft delivered a new firewall. This firewall blocks the important ports 80 (http) and 443 (https) and the server does not want to start (anymore). The fast solution: Deactivate the Microsoft firewall with the toolbar and try to start XAMPP once more.
Of course everybody also can define the own firwall exceptions in the security center. The following ports are needed for a basic functionality:


http 80 (HTTP)

https 443 (SSL)

mysql 3306




And for all other servers in XAMPP:

ftp 21

smtp 25

pop3 110

imap 143

AJP/1.3 8009

http-alt 8080 (Tomcat Default Port)



--------------------------------------------------------------


I hope this helps......... :wink:
wizazz
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 08. October 2005 00:48

Postby Adam Harper » 27. January 2006 20:09

I'm sure i don't need a domain name.....cause i ran this server before with out one i just used No-IP DNS names.....So all i have to do is open up my ports? yes? i don't want to pay for anything cause i can't this is why i have been using XAMPP for the last year now....ran my site for free fine....now that i got a router so all my computers can use the inter net i now have to pay to allow others to see my website?

Don't seem right there must be another way for me to get this up and working for free....

Also if you would help me forwarding them ports that would be AWESOME cause i'm new to routers and i tryed every guide and it don't seem to work...


Here is what i got for a router;

LinkSYS
EtherFast
Cable/DSL Router
with 4-Port Switch

Firmware Version: 1.04.02


Any Help would be great! thanks


Also here are the steps i took b4 i hade my router and it worked great and everyone and anyone could see my website.

Step 1: I made a folder in "thdocs" named it what ever made sense to what my website was about.

Step 2: Then i added my website files in the folder i have made in "htdocs"

Step 3: Then i went to www.no-ip.com and made a No-IP DNS

Step 4: Then i can now see my website and so can anyothers all i have to do now is type out; (heres an example)

http://DNSname.no-ip.org/FolderName/home.html

Now that i have a router i can no longer do this? i have to pay for a domain name? or is there other ways?

Thanks~
Adam Harper
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 22. January 2006 07:19

Postby tjthedj » 29. January 2006 21:11

For people to veiw your site through your router, go to http://portforward.com/english/routers/ ... rindex.htm and click your router then click default Guide, and forward ports 80 and 25.

hope this helps, up until this morning i had the same problem, until i asked a online friend and he gave me this link. now you can view my site even though i have a router.

i will be posting this same messsage in the other router problem thread!
tjthedj
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 29. January 2006 20:40
Location: Texas, USA

Postby Adam Harper » 29. January 2006 22:31

Well here is my guide;

http://portforward.com/english/routers/ ... efault.htm


I will look it over and get back if i do not get it working.
Adam Harper
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 22. January 2006 07:19

Postby tjthedj » 29. January 2006 23:20

any problems just post them on the other thread
tjthedj
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 29. January 2006 20:40
Location: Texas, USA

Postby mediumslice » 08. February 2006 14:59

Just in case.....


It is almost certain that you have setup the port forward correctly.

However, you will never be able to use the domain name from within your LAN, if it is on a LAN computer.

The router does not apply port forwarding rules to requests coming from the LAN side of it.

If you really need to access the site by domain name, instead of a local address - use a proxy server.
mediumslice
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 08. February 2006 14:51

Postby SeanO » 08. February 2006 17:10

That depends on the router.

Anyhow you can set up a hosts file entry to point to the server like this

bionic.arse.com 192.168.1.5

That'll redirect all requests for http://bionic.arse.com to the local machine 192.168.1.5 (or whatever the IP of the server is)

http://www.aldostools.com/hosts.html will handle the job. It means that all your traffic goes to the local machine directly rather than chewing up your bandwidth allowance.
SeanO
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 31. January 2006 21:00

Postby tjthedj » 08. February 2006 23:37

mediumslice wrote:Just in case.....


It is almost certain that you have setup the port forward correctly.

However, you will never be able to use the domain name from within your LAN, if it is on a LAN computer.

The router does not apply port forwarding rules to requests coming from the LAN side of it.

If you really need to access the site by domain name, instead of a local address - use a proxy server.


what's a good proxy server i could use, suggestions please
tjthedj
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 29. January 2006 20:40
Location: Texas, USA

Postby SeanO » 09. February 2006 04:19

You don't need a proxy server, you need a hosts file entry.
SeanO
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 31. January 2006 21:00


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 64 guests