mod_aspdotnet troubles

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

mod_aspdotnet troubles

Postby smesser » 17. January 2006 18:56

Has anyone been able to compile or get mod_aspdotnet working with apache 2.2?
smesser
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 17. January 2006 18:51

Postby Valoni » 07. February 2006 18:22

Donwload http://www.apache.org/dist/httpd/mod_as ... -2.0.0.msi

and install into C:\Program Files\xampp\apache\


in end of the
C:\Program Files\xampp\apache\conf\httpd.conf

add the following lines

#asp.net
LoadModule aspdotnet_module "modules/mod_aspdotnet.so"

AddHandler asp.net asax ascx ashx asmx aspx axd config cs csproj licx rem resources resx soap vb vbproj vsdisco webinfo

<IfModule mod_aspdotnet.cpp>
# Mount the ASP.NET /asp application
AspNetMount /SampleASP "c:/SampleASP"
#/SampleASP is the alias name for asp.net to execute
#"c:/SampleASP" is the actual execution of files/folders in that location

# Map all requests for /asp to the application files
Alias /SampleASP "c:/SampleASP"
#maps /SampleASP request to "c:/SampleASP"
#now to get to the /SampleASP type http://localhost/SampleASP
#It'll redirect http://localhost/SampleASP to "c:/SampleASP"

# Allow asp.net scripts to be executed in the /SampleASP example
<Directory "c:/SampleASP">
Options FollowSymlinks ExecCGI
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
DirectoryIndex index.htm index.aspx
#default the index page to .htm and .aspx
</Directory>

# For all virtual ASP.NET webs, we need the aspnet_client files
# to serve the client-side helper scripts.
AliasMatch /aspnet_client/system_web/(\d+)_(\d+)_(\d+)_(\d+)/(.*) "C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v$1.$2.$3/ASP.NETClientFiles/$4"



create a file called test.aspx

<!-- test.aspx -->
<%@ Page Language="vb" %>
<html>
<body>
<form runat="server">
<asp:Calendar runat="server" />
</form>
</body>
</html>


and try run it !!!


that's all folks ....
Valoni
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 06. February 2006 09:22
Location: Mitrovica

Postby Valoni » 07. February 2006 18:23

don't forget create c:\SampleASP and to put there test.aspx


that's all folks
Valoni
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 06. February 2006 09:22
Location: Mitrovica

Postby smesser » 08. February 2006 20:13

Valoni wrote:don't forget create c:\SampleASP and to put there test.aspx


that's all folks


I tried that will Apache version less than 2.2 and it works fine, but with version 2.2 it doesn't work.

Any ideas?
smesser
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 17. January 2006 18:51

Same problem with Apache 2.2 and mod_aspdotnet

Postby awells » 11. February 2006 23:50

I am having the same problem with getting the apache 2.2 server to start up (XP) after I put in the following line in the conf file.

LoadModule aspdotnet_module "modules/mod_aspdotnet.so"

the rest of the conf file is the same as posted previously in this thread.

If I comment out '# LoadModule...' the server will start up.

Allen :?
awells
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 11. February 2006 23:32
Location: Tucson, Arizona

Postby BobbyG » 18. February 2006 19:38

I had xampp running, then I tried to add aspx as shown above. Apache would start then stop. If I restart it says it is busy, but is actually not running.

If anyone who has aspx running on Apache 2.0 set up for localhost, could you copy and paste in this forum. It would probably make it easier for others to get it running.

Thanks
BobbyG
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 18. February 2006 09:07

Postby Wiedmann » 18. February 2006 20:25

At the moment ASP.NET with Apache/Win (mod_aspdotnet or mod_mono) is only available for Apache 2.0.x and not for Apache 2.2.x.

ASP with Apache/Win (2.0.x or 2.2.x) is only available via mod_perl and Apache::ASP (Perl scripting only).
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby BobbyG » 18. February 2006 21:15

Wiedmann wrote:At the moment ASP.NET with Apache/Win (mod_aspdotnet or mod_mono) is only available for Apache 2.0.x and not for Apache 2.2.x.

ASP with Apache/Win (2.0.x or 2.2.x) is only available via mod_perl and Apache::ASP (Perl scripting only).


I am running xampp with Apache/win 2.0. When I click start apache from control panel the green bar "Running" pops up then shuts off. When I click start again it says apache is "busy" . I had made changes to conf as shown above for mod_aspdotnet.

ASP was running without the mod by just changing ASP_tags=off to ASP_tags=on in php.ini
BobbyG
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 18. February 2006 09:07

Postby Wiedmann » 18. February 2006 21:24

I am running xampp with Apache/win 2.0. When I click start apache from control panel the green bar "Running" pops up then shuts off. When I click start again it says apache is "busy" . I had made changes to conf as shown above for mod_aspdotnet.

"error.log"? (Or try the apache_start.bat)

ASP was running without the mod by just changing ASP_tags=off to ASP_tags=on in php.ini

That's normal PHP with ASP-style tags "<%" instead of "<?php" (or short tags "<?").
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby BobbyG » 19. February 2006 01:06

[quote="Valoni"]Donwload http://www.apache.org/dist/httpd/mod_as ... -2.0.0.msi

and install into C:\Program Files\xampp\apache\


in end of the
C:\Program Files\xampp\apache\conf\httpd.conf

add the following lines

#asp.net
LoadModule aspdotnet_module "modules/mod_aspdotnet.so"


Just found out that will only work for NT -- I am using 98 SE

mod-mono is also only for win 2000 or higher

If I do not use the loadmodule, apache runs and the pages work if i type out the suffix "index.aspx" but they have navigation buttons on the left which do not appear on the pages.

Guess I will have to search around to see if I can find anyone that has modified aspdotnet for win 98
BobbyG
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 18. February 2006 09:07

Postby BobbyG » 19. February 2006 02:35

I can do without
LoadModule aspdotnet_module "modules/mod_aspdotnet.so"
if I can get the following to work without it.

I am only attempting to make design changes for this website without changing any of the windows platform asp.net code. I can bring up the pages by just typing the suffix .aspx but this part of the page does not appear.

Do I need aspdotnet for this to work or am I missing something else.

_Nav.ascx.vb

Public Class __Nav
Inherits System.Web.UI.UserControl

#Region " Web Form Designer Generated Code "

'This call is required by the Web Form Designer.
<System.Diagnostics.DebuggerStepThrough()> Private Sub InitializeComponent()

End Sub

'NOTE: The following placeholder declaration is required by the Web Form Designer.
'Do not delete or move it.
Private designerPlaceholderDeclaration As System.Object

Private Sub Page_Init(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Init
'CODEGEN: This method call is required by the Web Form Designer
'Do not modify it using the code editor.
InitializeComponent()
End Sub

#End Region

Private Sub Page_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
'Put user code to initialize the page here
End Sub

Public Function GetNav()
Dim strHTML As String
Dim strPage As String = Request.RawUrl

strHTML = "<td width='145' valign='top'>"

'Index Page Link
If strPage = "/Index.aspx" Then
strHTML += "<IMG NAME='home' SRC='images/home_yellow.gif' BORDER='0' width='140' height='60'>"
Else
strHTML += "<a HREF='Index.aspx' ONMOUSEOVER=" & Chr(34) & "document.home.src='images/home_over.gif'; return true;" & Chr(34) & ""
strHTML += "ONMOUSEOUT=" & Chr(34) & "document.home.src='images/home.gif'; return true;" & Chr(34) & "><IMG NAME='home' SRC='images/home.gif' BORDER='0' width='140' height='60'></a>"
End If
BobbyG
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 18. February 2006 09:07

Seems noone has figured it out

Postby smesser » 02. March 2006 18:40

I read in the readme.txt on CVS and it mentions that you must compile specifically for Apache 2.2, the problem is that I don't have access to a MS 7.0 compiler or I would try it myself.
smesser
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 17. January 2006 18:51

Postby WorldDrknss » 03. March 2006 06:17

Wiedmann wrote:At the moment ASP.NET with Apache/Win (mod_aspdotnet or mod_mono) is only available for Apache 2.0.x and not for Apache 2.2.x.

ASP with Apache/Win (2.0.x or 2.2.x) is only available via mod_perl and Apache::ASP (Perl scripting only).


Like Wiedmann said its not out for 2.2x yet, the proper way you would install it is use the .msi installer

then in your httpd.conf file at the bottom add

Include conf/extra/aspnet.conf

and then in your conf/extra/ folder create aspnet.conf file and add the following to it:

LoadModule aspdotnet_module modules/mod_aspdotnet.so

AddHandler asp.net asax ascx ashx asmx aspx axd config cs csproj \
licx rem resources resx soap vb vbproj vsdisco webinfo

AliasMatch "^/(?i)aspnet_client/system_web/(\d+)_(\d+)_(\d+)_(\d+)/(.*)" \
"C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v$1.$2.$3/ASP.NETClientFiles/$5"
<Directory "C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v*/ASP.NETClientFiles">
Options FollowSymlinks
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
</Directory>

#AspNetMount /app-uri "C:/path/to/app"
#Alias /app-uri "C:/path/to/app"
#<Directory "C:/path/to/app">
# Options FollowSymlinks Indexes Includes ExecCGI
# Order allow,deny
# Allow from all
# DirectoryIndex default.htm default.aspx
#</Directory>

http://xampptutorials.com
User avatar
WorldDrknss
 
Posts: 292
Joined: 17. September 2005 13:40

A few footnotes related to Apache 2.2 & Win32 compatibil

Postby smesser » 03. March 2006 16:11

README for mod_aspdotnet + Apache.Web
-----------------------------------

mod_aspdotnet.so and Apache.Web.dll require Windows 2000 or later, they
are not compatible with Windows 98 or Windows ME.


Build Notes
-----------

The top level workspace mod_aspdotnet.sln is invoked for a release build
for Apache 2.0 with the syntax;

set APACHE_PATH=d:\path\to\apache2
devenv mod_aspdotnet.sln /useenv /build Release /project installer

or to build for Apache 2.1-dev or Apache 2.2, invoke with the syntax;

set APACHE22_PATH=d:\path\to\apache2.2
devenv mod_aspdotnet.sln /useenv /build "Release 2.2" /project installer
smesser
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 17. January 2006 18:51


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ben.mansuk, JJ_Tagy and 61 guests