changing DNS A and MX record

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

changing DNS A and MX record

Postby dannyc3 » 14. January 2006 17:36

Hi

Ok i have my server all working correctly but i would like to have it work with an existing registered domain name which i have.

From reading in this forum it has become apparent that i need to change the A and MX record with my domain registrar, the problem i have is my ip changes everytime i connect to the internet.

Does this mean i will have to update the A and MX records with the new ip every time i connect to the internet?

Or is there another way of doing it?

thanks for any replies
dannyc3
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 14. January 2006 15:18

Postby Wiedmann » 14. January 2006 18:44

Does this mean i will have to update the A and MX records with the new ip every time i connect to the internet?

Sure. But that's logical, or not?
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

solved

Postby dannyc3 » 14. January 2006 19:09

Ok i have found a solution for anybody else who is having this same problem.

http://www.dnsexit.com/Direct.sv?cmd=home

A totally free service that will allow you to map Your domain name to your static or dynamic ip :)
dannyc3
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 14. January 2006 15:18


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JJ_Tagy and 64 guests