advice needed for project in xampp

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

advice needed for project in xampp

Postby malekeac » 04. December 2005 01:58

I have never used this software before and now i need to do a project with it.

I am to make a university database in mysql and use php to log into the database.

My first question is how do i use mysql on xampp? i know mysql_start.bat starts the database, but how do i actually create my tables in sql?

Second, ive been reading about html and php and i think i have a good understanding on what to do, but how do i actually begin making the php files with xampp?

any advice will be much appreciated
malekeac

Postby cj_nza » 05. December 2005 03:26

I have never used this software before and now i need to do a project with it.

From your post I gather that you have not only not used XAMPP before, but you have also not used PHP or HTML markup (or I assume SQL). You refer to the fact that you are to make a University database - if this is for study I assume that your study guides should point you in the right direction, if not good luck ...

In any event - XAMPP is primarily a collection of servers. It includes for your needs a PHP aware HTTP server (web server) as well as a mySQL database server. To interact with the servers you need clients.
As http client you have your own web browser.

In order to communicate with mySQL in XAMPP (or mySQL outside of XAMPP) you could use a browser based mySQL client in the form of phpMyAdmin (which is part of the XAMPP distribution).

You are not limited to phpMyAdmin as it is but one of many clients that could be used to connect to the mySQL server. You could also use for instance mySQL Query Browser from mysql.com or foxysql from www.casestudio.com/enu/database_tool_foxysqlfree.aspx or sqlyog from www.webyog.com/sqlyog/index_sqlyogfree.php etc etc

With regards to PHP http://nz.php.net/manual/en/introduction.php