Page 1 of 1

phpMyAdmin URL problems

PostPosted: 08. November 2005 17:36
by JoanW
How in the world do I get to phpMyAdmin? Is it accessed via the URL I input into the config.inc.php file?

Per my understanding (which could very well be lacking), I set up this path:

http://Program Files/xampp/phpMyAdmin/

Is this correct? When I type it into the URL in IE I simply get a standard this page cannot be displayed message and the URL changes to

http://program%20files/xampp/phpMyAdmin/

Mozilla on the other hand tells me the URL is not valid and cannot be loaded.

So what do I need to do to make it valid? Why is it not valid?
Would someone kindlly educate me as to where I am amiss and why?

Thank you.
Joan

PostPosted: 08. November 2005 17:44
by Wiedmann
How in the world do I get to phpMyAdmin?

http://localhost/phpmyadmin/

Is it accessed via the URL I input into the config.inc.php file?

Why did you put a URI into the "config.inc.php"?

PostPosted: 08. November 2005 19:54
by JoanW
Two reasons. 1. Because the book I am using to teach myself this stuff... PHP Web Development with Macromedia Dreamweaver MX 2004 (though I'm using DMW8) said to. 2. Because it looks to me the config file itself says to. Pasted in below... the info next to $cfg['PmaAbsoluteUri'] is what I input.

/**
* Your phpMyAdmin URL.
*
* Complete the variable below with the full url ie
* http://www.your_web.net/path_to_your_ph ... directory/
*
* It must contain characters that are valid for a URL, and the path is
* case sensitive on some Web servers, for example Unix-based servers.
*
* In most cases you can leave this variable empty, as the correct value
* will be detected automatically. However, we recommend that you do
* test to see that the auto-detection code works in your system. A good
* test is to browse a table, then edit a row and save it. There will be
* an error message if phpMyAdmin cannot auto-detect the correct value.
*/
$cfg['PmaAbsoluteUri'] = 'http://Program Files/xampp/phpMyAdmin';

/**

PostPosted: 08. November 2005 20:00
by Wiedmann
2. Because it looks to me the config file itself says to.

Please read the part you post from the config file a second time...

(and btw it should be a correct uri if you want to set one)

PostPosted: 08. November 2005 20:14
by JoanW
I tried not putting a URL in there but that made no difference.

PostPosted: 09. November 2005 01:24
by JoanW
This problem is solved. I dragged the entire phpMyAdmin file into htdocs... hence: Program Files/xampp/htdocs/phpMyAdmin, then changed the path in the Apache config and the phpMyAdmin config files and all is well. It works.

PostPosted: 09. November 2005 04:06
by cj_nza
Just for future referrence -

* Complete the variable below with the full url ie
* http://www.your_web.net/path_to_your_ph ... directory/


the path to your phpMyAdmin directory as indicated above refers to the path FROM the "document root" directory for that sub-domain (localhost) NOT the path from the drive root (note - http protocol) .

For a standard XAMPP setup the document root is htdocs. Your webserver will for a request for http://localhost/index.php serve the file "index.php" in your c:\\Program Files\xampp\htdocs\ directory.

Hence the path to phpmyadmin is normally:
http://localhost/phpmyadmin/

PostPosted: 09. November 2005 21:21
by JoanW
Thank you for your help.