Connecting php with Oracle

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Connecting php with Oracle

Postby pontios » 07. August 2005 09:26

Hello to all!
Nice work with xampp but I'm facing the following problem:
I have enabled php_oci8.dll and php_oracle.dll both in php/ext and apache/bin (also just in apache/bin). When I start apache an error message appears:

'apache.exe - Unable to locate component'
This application has failed to start because OCI.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem.

and the following WARNING
PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library c:\apachefriends\xampp\php\ext\php_oci8.dll' The soecified module could not be found.

Similar messages appear also for php_oracle.dl and, as a result, no oracle function works.
What should I do to connect with oracle

Thank you
a greek apachefriend
pontios
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 05. August 2005 13:08

Postby Wiedmann » 07. August 2005 10:38

I have enabled php_oci8.dll and php_oracle.dll both in php/ext and apache/bin (also just in apache/bin).

You must only enable one of this two extenions (in "\xampp\apache\bin\php.ini"). Depended on your installed Oracle client version.

apache.exe - Unable to locate component'
This application has failed to start because OCI.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem.

The Oracle client must also be in your Windows search path.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby pontios » 07. August 2005 12:32

You must only enable one of this two extenions (in "\xampp\apache\bin\php.ini").


I've tried it but it doesn't work also.

Depended on your installed Oracle client version.
The Oracle client must also be in your Windows search path.


what about If I haven't installed Oracle client? Php can't just connect to a remote dbserver without running an oracle client?

Thanks for your help
pontios
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 05. August 2005 13:08

Postby Wiedmann » 07. August 2005 19:47

Php can't just connect to a remote dbserver without running an oracle client?

You have read the PHP manual?
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby pontios » 08. August 2005 10:05

I haven't read the entire manual, only what I was looking for...
Actually I have installed Oracle client in my workstation.
Sorry for being so novice and thanks again...
pontios
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 05. August 2005 13:08


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 54 guests