Change apache docroot within xampp_start

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Change apache docroot within xampp_start

Postby alan » 11. July 2005 17:40

I am a computing lecturer teaching web programming using phpEclipse. Until now my students have developed code on a central server within our department. However I tell my students (190+ each year) to use apachefriends at home (as I do) as I think that it is the best combination especially for casual users who dont want an HTTP server and a Database server running as background processes. Well done for that.

We primarily use windows in our lab machines.
This year I am considering dispensing with the central server and installing apachefriends on all machines in our labs. Whilst it is easy to place apachefriends on the c drive. Our administrators make that drive readable only to students who each have user space on a remote server.

So the problem is with setting up the document root for apache. Would it be possible to change the apache_start executable so that it throws out a dialogue box to allow students to set a directory in their area as the document root? Or alternatively look for a config file they can place in their home directory? As all lab machines are useable to all students I am assuming that in order to stop overloading the HTdocs directory apache_start should pass the root the student requires as a parameter to starting apache (can you do that I havent checked?) or it should re-write the apache config file whooa!!! not happy with that.

I am willing to do some work on this is it possible to get source for apache_start?

Thanks

Alan
alan

Postby alucard01 » 15. July 2005 06:02

How about this:

Make XAMPP only access by specific students. i.e. if student A login, this student cannot access to XAMPP. While student B(your student) login, this student can access to this folder. And then run setup_xampp.bat for personal config....