setting mySQL password

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

setting mySQL password

Postby casa3311 » 25. June 2005 18:51

I want to set the mySQL password. I spent the entire day yesterday trying to get xampp installed on my Windows XP2 machine that I use for testing purposes. Yesterday, I used the interface at http://localhost/ to change the passwords and after that was unable to log in to phpMyAdmin. I ended up completely removing xampp and reinstalling it. I am now a bit gunshy about using that interface to set the password, but need to have it set.

Any suggestions on setting in manually? Is it the config.ini.php file and if so which one? Before this one, I used IBServer and before that FoxServ, but both had mySQL gui's to easily, but manually set the mySQL passwords. I needed to go with xampp because I needed Perl and neither of the other two included that. Plus neither had the latest versions of PHP, mySQL or phpMyAdmin.

Additionally, does xampp set the mySQL and phpMyAdmin passwords to be the same. IE when I'm challenged when I click on phpMyAdmin, what is that challenge expecting. That may be where I was off yesterday. However, I wrote down all of my usernames and passwords and tried all combinations of those and could not get phpMyAdmin to accept anything.

Thanks...

Thank...
casa3311
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 24. June 2005 16:16
Location: Alabama

Postby casa3311 » 25. June 2005 19:30

I think I have it now. I don't have .htaccess set up, but I do have the permissions set up. I was finally able to figure out a search criteria that gave me results on this forum to find a link to point me in the right direction. Even though I wasn't downloading the Lite version, the cowiki website pointed me in the right direction.

See: http://www.cowiki.org/171.html

and: http://localhost/phpmyadmin/server_privileges.php

I'd still like to set the .htaccess on phpMyAdmin, but don't want to mess it up and have to delete and reinstall again. Any ideas/suggestions??? I am running Norton and do have my firewall turned on. This may be part of the problem as far as setting thing up. But this is my private home computer and test environment so I really don't want the "world" in here poking around :? .

Thanks...
casa3311
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 24. June 2005 16:16
Location: Alabama


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 51 guests