Apache only works on network.

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Apache only works on network.

Postby Wagaweze » 30. March 2005 14:01

Hi im running:

Apache2
MySQL 5
PhP 5.0.3
and PhpMyAdimin

But i can only access my webserver on a computer on my network. Other computers cant see my site.
Anyone ever had this problem?

or neone think they no something wrong with my conf or somen like that
thanks.
Wagaweze
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 30. March 2005 13:55

Postby keepsedge » 31. March 2005 16:46

I have a similar problem.

Note that if you type in http://127.0.0.1 you are using a loop back ip which will get to your site as long as your using a wevb browser from the machine running the server.

If ou type http://192.168.0.[rest] from any networked pc you'll get the site.

And as above typing http:// and you acuall IP will get you the site from any pc on the network, however. If you type http://[ip] from any computer on the internet and not on your network, you get a nice 404.

Im not sure why this is. XAMPP has proved to be a pretty decent beta server for testing files that use PHP before uploading them to a live server. But to use XAMPP as a live webserver isn't wielding to many results for me as well.

</keeper>
keepsedge
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 24. December 2004 11:04

Same Issue

Postby loudmouth04043 » 03. April 2005 18:53

I am having the same Issue, I can see my pages, but no one outside of my network can. I am on a laptop that connects to the internet through a wireless card and router.

Might that be the issue?

Any help would be appreciated.
loudmouth04043
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 03. April 2005 18:50

Postby prathapml » 04. April 2005 16:48

This is not a XAMPP issue at all.
You will normally need to configure your router first, for your server.
prathapml
 
Posts: 87
Joined: 11. March 2005 23:03

Postby keepsedge » 05. April 2005 03:52

prathapml wrote:This is not a XAMPP issue at all.
You will normally need to configure your router first, for your server.


i dont have a router........
i use ethernet crossovercable between two nic's

so again, wy cant people across the net see my pages when they type in my ip behing http:// ?
keepsedge
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 24. December 2004 11:04

Postby skuipers » 10. April 2005 10:03

If you do not have a router, you will surely have a firewall?

The firewall should let go through inward bound trafic on port 80 and should direct it to apache. Does it?
skuipers
 
Posts: 99
Joined: 21. January 2005 16:27
Location: The Netherlands

Postby kursk » 12. April 2005 10:04

keepsedge wrote:
prathapml wrote:i dont have a router........
i use ethernet crossovercable between two nic's


that's in fact a router.
you should first specify in your connection settings, the ip addres of th computer that is connected to internet as as gateway.

then you should specify on the "router" connection settings which ports you would like to route to your server.

gateway.ip.address.here port 80 => xampp.server.ip.address 80 , for http
gateway.ip.address.here port 21 => xampp.server.ip.address 21 , for ftp

i cant remember which port number is https, so you should find it yourself.
mysql server doesnt need to be routed, has long as its acceded localy (ie php, perl, cgi).

with this configuration, your server will be accessible through the external ip address of your gateway. but only for the ports you specified.

outgoing connection don't have to be routed (such as smtp).
kursk
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 23. March 2005 21:09

Postby skuipers » 12. April 2005 10:17

kursk wrote:i cant remember which port number is https, so you should find it yourself.
443
skuipers
 
Posts: 99
Joined: 21. January 2005 16:27
Location: The Netherlands


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests