Error 400.

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Error 400.

Postby hodeez » 25. February 2005 05:59

installed xampp and works fine, until i asked someone to test it.
unfortunately it doesnt work!
so i tried it, if i do not use localhost or 127.0.0.1, it gives me error 400 in IE and bad host request. in firefox
ports are opened

any ideas why?
my closest idea is config of apache, but i cant find anything funny.
i reinstalled xampp a few times already. :?: :!: :idea:
hodeez
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 25. February 2005 05:54

Re: Error 400.

Postby Ceelight » 25. February 2005 13:09

hodeez wrote:so i tried it, if i do not use localhost or 127.0.0.1, it gives me error 400 in IE and bad host request.

How exactly do you (or your friend) try?
in firefox ports are opened

Please explain. You can't open any ports with firefox...
any ideas why?
my closest idea is config of apache, but i cant find anything funny.
i reinstalled xampp a few times already. :?: :!: :idea:


Do you use a router with NAT? Is port 80 open and forwarded to the XAMPP machine?
There's no place like 127.0.0.1
User avatar
Ceelight
 
Posts: 295
Joined: 31. January 2004 19:57
Location: Pfälzer im niedersächsischen Exil ;-)

Postby hodeez » 25. February 2005 14:55

thanks for replying, let me clarify

i get "bad host request" in firefox
and my ports are opened

not firefox ports are opened hehe

pretty sure router config is not the problem, port 80 is wide open

my friend tries to connect by using my ip
i tried with my own IP and with a dyndns mask
hodeez
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 25. February 2005 05:54

Postby Ceelight » 25. February 2005 23:41

Your friend should be able see your website if your port 80 is forwarded to your server. You cannot see the page when you're trying to browse to your own external ip. Difficult to explain in English, but trust me - doesn't work.

What about Win XP firewall? Did you check that?
There's no place like 127.0.0.1
User avatar
Ceelight
 
Posts: 295
Joined: 31. January 2004 19:57
Location: Pfälzer im niedersächsischen Exil ;-)

Postby hodeez » 26. February 2005 01:06

should not be a problem
DMZ'd router to my computer
i have emule functioning properly
bittorrent functions properly
i've even used FTP servers and stuff so it doesnt seem like ports
hodeez
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 25. February 2005 05:54


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 51 guests