Page 1 of 1

migrating a database a table by a table

PostPosted: 03. July 2021 08:21
by dotKer
I have two XAMPPs at (G:) XAMPP20210115 and at (G:) XAMPP20210620
There is a database named "myDB1" at(G:) XAMPP20210115
The database "myDB1" has 15 tables.

I like to migrate the database "myDB1" from (G:) XAMPP20210115 to (G:) XAMPP20210620.

I try to migrate the database "myDB1" from (G:) XAMPP20210115 to (G:) XAMPP20210620 with the procedure of (1) and (2) below.

(1) exporting the database "myDB1 from (G:) XAMPP20210115
(2) importing the database "myDB1.sql" to (G:) XAMPP20210620

The result of (2) in the above quote is the following.
Incorrect format parameter

As I failed in importing the database by the error "incorrect format parameter.", I try to migrate every table in "myDB1" one by one.

As I have succeeded the migration every table one by one from (G:) XAMPP20210115 to (G:) XAMPP20210620 using phpMyAdmin, I try to migrate some tables instead of full 15 tables from (G:) XAMPP20210115 to (G:) XAMPP20210620.
With the severail trials, I now got the following database at (G:) XAMPP20210620.
myDB1.myTable1, myTable2, myTable3, myTable4, myTable5, myTable6, myTable7, myTable8, myTable9, myTable10
myDB2.myTable11, myTable12, myTable13, myTable14, myTable15,

(Question1) Can I unite myDB1 and my DB2 for making myDB3 which has 15 tables all like the following with phpMyAdmin?
myDB3.myTable1, myTable2, myTable3, myTable4, myTable5, myTable6, myTable7, myTable8, myTable9, myTable10, myTable11, myTable12, myTable13, myTable14, myTable15

(Question2-1) Can I migrate succesfully the database "myDB1" from (G:) XAMPP20210115 to (G:) XAMPP20210620 without the error "Incorrect format parameter" with your help?
(Question2-2) What causes the error "Incorrect format parameter" in your guess?

Re: migrating a database a table by a table

PostPosted: 03. July 2021 12:22
by dotKer
I found the problem myself.

The file size is more than 500MG.
I think I can extend the file size from 40MB to 600MB by configure in php.ini.

Thank you

Re: migrating a database a table by a table

PostPosted: 03. July 2021 12:25
by dotKer
Oh, I met another problem on the way of importing
Now it says like the following.

script time limit is exceeded.

The quote above is translation from my mother tongue to English.

How can I extend script time limit?

Re: migrating a database a table by a table

PostPosted: 03. July 2021 12:51
by dotKer
although I extend max_execution_time to 600, it still says like the following
script time limit is exceeded.

what else do I need to confiqure for importing a big sql file in phpMyAdmin?

Re: migrating a database a table by a table

PostPosted: 03. July 2021 13:46
by dotKer
I have succeeded importing by configuring $cfg['ExecTimeLimit'] at phpMyAdmin / libraries / config.default.php
Thanks to you all including me. ^ ^

Re: migrating a database a table by a table

PostPosted: 03. July 2021 14:43
by Altrea
glad you got it working.
but why did you not import the file by CLI?

Re: migrating a database a table by a table

PostPosted: 06. July 2021 07:06
by dotKer
why did you not import the file by CLI?


What does it mean by CLI?
How can I import the file by CLI?

Re: migrating a database a table by a table

PostPosted: 06. July 2021 10:12
by Altrea
In the command line (for example the XAMPP shell):

Dumping a database:
Code: Select all
mysqldump.exe --user=root --password= --max_allowed_packet=1G --host=localhost --port=3306 --default-character-set=utf8 "databasename" > "c:\path\to\dump\filename.sql"


Importing a Database
Code: Select all
mysql.exe --user=root --password= --max_allowed_packet=1G --host=localhost --port=3306 --default-character-set=utf8 "databasename" < "c:\path\to\dump\filename.sql"