phpMyAdmin errors with no error code - Please Help

Und alles was mit phpMyAdmin seine Verwandtschaft findet hat hier seinen Platz.

phpMyAdmin errors with no error code - Please Help

Postby energy » 31. August 2007 02:09

Hello,

I am sorry I do not speak German - but I hope someone on this forum can help me.

Background:
Running Win XP
MySQl 5.0 / Apache 2.2.4 / phpMyAdmin 2.11

MySQl/Apache/PHP all working fine - able to create DB/Tables/run script etc..

phpMyAdmin - Problems

Able to: Login, Create Database, Drop Database

Not Able to: Create Tables, Add New User, Change Privileges, Run Search Query etc...

Example 1: I click "Privileges" and see the users created in MYSQL, I click "Add New User" - Result: Screen flashes and returns to same page - no error message

Example 2: I Open a Database without tables. In "Create New Table on Database" - I enter name and number of fields (4) - Instead of field with 4 entry rows there is only 1. I enter info (name, VARCHAR, 30, etc..) and hit either Go or Save - Result: Screen flash and return of same screen - no error message

Please assist me.
Thank you.
EG[/img]
energy
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 31. August 2007 01:50

Postby sari42 » 01. September 2007 10:52

sounds like

suhosin issues
or apache "security" modules preventing successful operations
or too restrictive php settings.......

anything in the php/apache error logs?
sari42
 
Posts: 800
Joined: 27. November 2005 18:28

Postby energy » 05. September 2007 04:30

sari42:
1) Suhosin is not part of standard PHP 5.0 installation. Correct?
How can I verify that this is not the cause?

2) Apache error log shows no errors. Most recent event is a notice: "Starting thread to listen on port 80".
How do I check the settings of PHP settings and Apache security modules?
What are the correct settings?

Thanks.
energy
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 31. August 2007 01:50

Postby sari42 » 08. September 2007 14:35

1) correct
2)
Code: Select all
<?php //save as info.php
phpinfo();
?>
has all the information you need
3) apache has superb docs
Last edited by sari42 on 09. September 2007 02:16, edited 1 time in total.
sari42
 
Posts: 800
Joined: 27. November 2005 18:28

Postby energy » 08. September 2007 21:16

Sari42: Thanks for the suggestions and assistance. I really appreciate it. Unfortunately, Apache docs didn't have the answer. However, problem is now solved. Thank you.

Solution for others who encounter same mixed behavior:
Problem was caused by Zone Alarm - (even though I had loopback set to trusted zone). Behavior was strange because it did not stop MySQl/Apache/PHP at all and only prevented phpMyAdmin functions partially. That was confusing ==> I was allowed to create databases but not tables; stopped phpMyAdmin but not MYSQL through direct commands.
energy
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 31. August 2007 01:50


Return to phpMyAdmin

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests