Install fails Ubuntu 12.04 XAMPP 1.8.1 [Solved]

Problems with the Linux version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Install fails Ubuntu 12.04 XAMPP 1.8.1 [Solved]

Postby BrianB » 19. November 2012 16:06

Hello!

I'm a relative Linux newbie.

I've just downloaded xampp-linux-1.8.1.tar.gz to my desktop and I attemped to install according to the instructions here:

http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp-linux.html#377

Typed in the Terminal per the instructions:

tar xvfz xampp-linux-1.8.1.tar.gz -C /opt

and got this response

tar (child): xampp-linux-1.8.1.tar.gz: Cannot open: No such file or directory
tar (child): Error is not recoverable: exiting now
tar: Child returned status 2
tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks! :D
BrianB

Operating System: Ubuntu 12.04

Re: Install fails Ubuntu 12.04 XAMPP 1.8.1

Postby JonB » 19. November 2012 19:27

Uh - not quite

I'm going to assume you did the right thing and either used 'su' or 'sudo'.

tar xvfz xampp-linux-1.8.1.tar.gz -C /opt <== that assumes that the file 'xampp-linux-1.8.1.tar.gz' is in the PWD/CWD (current working directory)

The CWD when you open Terminal defaults to the 'home' folder for the current Linux/Unix user. You have to navigate form there.

if the files is actually on your Desktop, find its absolute path using your file manager

the path is likely to be: /home/yourlinuxusername/Desktop

Code: Select all
tar xvfz /home/yourlinuxusername/Desktop/xampp-linux-1.8.1.tar.gz -C /opt 

OR your could use the 'cd' command if your prompt is [linuxusername@localhost ~]#

Code: Select all
cd ./Desktop
[linuxusername@localhost Desktop]# sudo tar xvfz xampp-linux-1.8.1.tar.gz -C /opt

That will work because you are in the Desktop folder so the path is presumably not needed. You can always add ' ./ ' to the start of a filename to mean, starting from 'this' folder.